Council supports my tree motion

Last night East Devon District Council met virtually to debate the tree motion that I brought forward. I am delighted that councillors united to condemn the practice of pre-emptive tree felling, which sees trees being removed prior to submitting planning applications. The Council also agreed that a scoping report for the tree strategy will urgently be brought forward. This will be the first stage to developing a full tree strategy for the Council.

During the debate I spoke of my experiences as a ward member for the woodland village of West Hill and how over eight years I have experienced hundreds of trees being felled. During the debate I learned that I was far from alone with other councillors facing similar experiences.

And it’s not just councillors who have strong views on the importance of trees. Ed Dolphin from the Sidmouth Arboretum voiced support for the formation of a tree strategy for EDDC and resident Gary Sherman spoke eloquently about the impact of tree removal on wildlife and the need to take action and show leadership.

I tabled the motion to give greater prominence to trees and very much bring them to the fore. Motions are a good way for councillors to highlight what they see as the key issues.  My motion prompted a response from the environment portfolio holder Cllr Jung prior to the meeting and at the start of the debate I explained how I wished the motion to be amended. It now reads as set out below.

When it came to the vote the Council unanimously supported the motion and I anticipate that the scoping report will be brought to the Overview committee meeting in October.

I’m really pleased that as a result of my motion the Council has expressed its opposition to pre-emptive tree felling and that it is now full steam ahead to progressing the Council’s tree strategy.

­­­­­­­­­­­­____________________________________

MOTION WORDING.

This council recognizes the immense contribution that trees make to our District – shaping the landscape, providing a vital habitat for wildlife, sequestering carbon to help combat climate change and playing an essential role in the eco-system by absorbing rainwater and preventing erosion.  

Trees are also vital to our communities enhancing well-being, connecting people with their natural environment, providing shade and peace, cooling the streets, marking the seasons and giving our communities a sense of ‘place’. 

In light of the key role of trees: 

This Council condemns the practice of pre-emptive tree felling prior to the submission of planning applications.

This Council agrees that a scoping and indicative report of a tree strategy be urgently brought to the next available Overview meeting.