Road issues in Ottery St Mary

As the new county councillor for the Otter Valley, taking urgent action on the terrible condition of the road at Jesu Street, Bridgefield and Yonder Street is a priority.

I called for a meeting with Devon County Council highways officers and on Friday we met on site with Cllrs Vicky Johns and Stewart Lucas from the town council, who have also been pressing for action.

We were advised by the highways officers that resurfacing is expected to be carried out during the summer and once I have an exact date I will confirm. I have also raised the issue of what action can be taken pending this. I note that potholes have already been reported via the website and they will be triaged through DCC’s system. I have also submitted my own report on the potholes and have asked the highways officers if the injection filler can be deployed to fill all of them.

I am very concerned about the condition of this road and shall be monitoring progress of both the interim pothole remediation and the resurfacing very closely.

Photo of the road at Yonder St, Ottery St Mary

Please leave me a comment