Water leak between Higher Metcombe and Tipton

Is the water flowing down the road in Higher Metcombe towards Tipton ever going to stop??

South West Water claim there’s no water leak. I know the ground is saturated from all the rain we’ve had but I think its highly likely there *is* a leak from a SWW pipe. So I’ve asked them to bring their engineers back to investigate again….

Here is my letter to Susan Davy CEO of SWW 👇

Dear Ms Davy,

Re:Water Leak at Higher Metcombe, Tipton St John EX11 1SS

SWW have been notified on numerous occasions by residents about a significant flow of water that has been cascading down the road in Higher Metcombe towards Tipton St John for well over a month.

When I contacted SWW Customer Services earlier this week I was advised that SWW engineers attended the site on 11th March but were unable to locate a leak.

Whilst I acknowledge we have had extremely wet weather I think by far the most likely cause of this flow IS a water leak – particularly given there is SWW pipework in the immediate vicinity. I also have to point out that I have experience elsewhere in my ward of SWW claiming that water flowing down a road wasn’t a leak, only to subsequently discover that actually it was a leak after all.

Given the volume of water, the length of time that this has been going on, the fact that SWW pipework is in close proximity and also the damage this water is causing to the public highway can you please arrange for SWW engineers to revisit to carry out further investigations as a matter of urgency. There is a serious loss of water involved and it is causing damage to the road. I am also very concerned about road safety in the event that the water on the road freezes over.

Can you please also ensure that I am provided with the details of when your engineers will be attending, as I would also wish to be present with representatives from DCC as the Highways Authority.

Yours sincerely

Cllr Jess Bailey

Devon County Councillor – Otter Valley